“To live in this world you must be able to do three things”

“To live in this world you must be able to do three things: to love what is mortal; to hold it against your bones knowing your own life depends on it; and, when the time comes to let it go, to let it go.” – Mary Oliver

There’s no one like Mary Oliver.  She really touches a pulse, doesn’t she?  I know that I have done the first two things on her list fiercely.  I have been “loving” and “holding it against my bones” (I love those words) my entire life.  But letting it go, that is the hard part.  Letting it go is the freeing part.  This freedom is exactly what I need here in my little pocket.

So today, I start a new day, er well evening.  I’m done trying to make amends and righting wrongs and singing sad songs.  It’s time to let go of the attachments, positive or negative as they may be.  I’m getting back on the rollercoaster that is my life, throwing my hands up to the sky, and just “let it go.”  So tonight, may my hair wisp away in the wind, may my heart be empty as the night, and may my mind be filled with wonder like the stars.

Your dearest dream is coming true.

Leave a Reply

